General Skilled Migration

General Skilled Migration

Migration rules in Australia changes in July every year making things more complicated for the migration aspirants and students. However, by seeking help from registered migration consultants ; it might be relatively easy for you to achieve your goals .

General Skilled Migration program intends to attract highly employable people for migration to Australia. This program targets people who are under 50 years old, highly skilled, have competent English and who will quickly make a contribution to the Australian economy.

Basic requirements
To apply for General Skilled visas, applicants must be able to satisfy the basic requirements.
  1. Age - You must be between 18 to 49 (both inclusive) years of age when you apply.
  2. English language ability - You must have Competent English or higher (6 minimum in IELTS or holder of approved passports).
  3. Qualifications - You must have post-secondary qualifications. In a small number of occupations, formal training and relevant work experience may be acceptable.
  4. Skill Assessment- Your skills, qualifications and work experience must have been assessed by the relevant assessing authority as suitable for your nominated occupation.
  5. Nominated occupation - When you apply, you must nominate an occupation which fits your skills and qualifications. Your nominated occupation must be on the Skilled Occupations List (SOL) or Consolidated Sponsored Occupation List (CSOL).In case the occupation is on the CSOL nomination from State/Territory Government is also required.
  6. SkillSelect - The applicant will need to go through the Skill Select system - this involves first making an Expression of Interest and receiving an invitation from the Department of Immigration to apply.
Skilled Subclasses
  • Skilled Independent (Subclass 189) - This is a permanent visa for people with skills listed in SOL(Skilled Occupation List) . Applicants are not required to be sponsored by a relative or a State/Territory Government.
  • Skilled Sponsored (Subclass 190) - This is a permanent visa which requires nomination by a State or Territory Government.
  • Skilled Regional Sponsored (Subclass 489) – This is a 4 year provisional visa which allows holders to live in certain areas of Australia. Applicant would need to be sponsored by an Australian relative living in a designated area, or by a state or territory government.
  • Skilled Regional (Residence) (Subclass 887)-Onshore only.

The Skilled Regional Visa is the permanent stage of the Skilled Regional Provisional Visa. To qualify for this visa, you must live in the required region of Australia for 2 years and work full time there for 12 months.

Enquire Now
Accredited With